New Year’s Resolutions

I think new year’s resolutions are very helpful. Many people disagree and they probably aren’t helpful for these people. People are such simple creatures. Many people can be motivated by simple things that it’s sometimes shocking! How many times have you heard someone say “Alright, I’m starting my diet next week!” or “at the beginning of next month!”? People see the start of a new period of time (ex. day, week, month, year, etc.) as an excellent motivation. I personally only find the start of a new year to be particularly special, as a result that is the only time a resolution of sorts works.

Since it’s not that frequent the I get the chance to use a new time period as my motivation, I decided to give myself multiple resolutions this year. And this year, I’m serious about my resolutions. Some of the details are relatively private, however the general concept can be public. Here’s my list of resolutions to accomplish by the end of 2012. I’ll come back to this post and edit with my progress along with dates throughout the year.

  • Start facing problems head-on, instead of ignoring and hiding from them.
  • Start a tech-based blog and give it a serious shot, though no commitment is required. It’s more of an experiment really.
  • Work on a couple of WP7 apps to fill the void of what I find missing on the marketplace… More of a selfish task as I’m doing this for myself, but also publishing on the marketplace for all others to take advantage of as well.
  • START SAVING MONEY! I’ve been working for a year and I have nothing to show for it according to my bank account. I’ve been wasting huge amounts on such trivial things and think I could save a big chunk if I tried. I have a goal to save by the end of the year, but I’d like to see more remain.
2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. 1. That’s one resolution I’ve tried to commit to, but eventually got back to leaving problems behind for a while. Or maybe it’s me procrastinating…
    2. Don’t get writer’s block ;-)!
    3. WP7 is quite new compared to iOS or Android. Give it some time and the marketplace will flourish like the other platforms. You have a great opportunity coding WP7 since you know what’s missing.
    4. I’ve recently started to save money. Basically went from a spending freak to a “normal” spender. It’s quite shocking to see how much you save! Tip: don’t count the saved money too often ;-), you just might get the urge to buy something!

  2. 1. Let’s hope that doesn’t end up happening to me.
    2. I already have about 10 post ideas written down and I keep coming up with more of them. Asides from that, this blog will have a lot of programming tips & tricks for WP7, so that’ll happen as I code more.
    3. Yeah I’m aware of that. I’ve already seen it grow substantially in the past year that I’ve been a WP7 user (very early adopter).
    4. Yeah I made that switch too and realized how much more I’m saving now. No more buying new gadgets and electronics every month like I used to!

Leave a Reply

